Breaking News


Wednesday, May 23

CNN Multichoice African Journalist 2012 Finalists Announced [Full List]

Kenyan fatuma noor named CNN African Journalists 2011

   Finalists in the prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2012 Competition were  announced  may 18,2012 by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel. The competition which  is now in its 17th year received entries from 42 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speakingAfrica.
  34 finalists from 12 countries:  
Tunde Akingbade, Freelance, The Guardian on Sunday,Nigeria
Joshua Anny, Joy FM, Ghana
Manar Attiya, Ahram Hebdo, Egypt
Adriaan Basson ; Piet Rampedi, CityPress,South Africa
Najlae Benmbarek, 2M TV, Maroc
Demelza Bush, Craig McKune ; Verashni Pillay, Mail ; Guardian Online,South Africa
Ramusel Graça,Televisão Santomense, São Tomé e Príncipe
Arsénio Henriques, Soico – STV, Moçambique
Edward Echwalu, Freelance for The Observer,Uganda
Teresa Sofia Fortes, A Semana, Cabo Verde
Isabel João, Novo Jornal, Angola
Ahaoma Kanu, National Daily Newspaper, Nigeria
Tom Mboya; Evanson Nyaga, Citizen TV,Kenya
Andrew Mulenga, The PostNewspaper,Zambia
Nimrod Taabu Mwagamoyo ; Charles Kinyua Kariuki, NTV,Kenya
Waihiga Mwaura ; Jephitha Mwai Mwangi, Citizen TV,Kenya
John Muchangi Njiru, The Star,Kenya
Peter Nkanga, Elor Nkereuwem, Musikilu Mojeed ; Idris Akinbajo, NEXT on Sunday, Nigeria
Antoine de Ras, The Star,South Africa
Megan Small ; Clive Mtshali, 3rd Degree,,South Africa
Stephen Ssenkaaba, NewVision,Uganda
Joy Summers,Carte Blanche,South Africa
Gerald Tenywa, SaturdayVision,Uganda
Nelson Wesonga, DailyMonitor,Uganda

     The winners of the competition will be announced at an Award Ceremony and Gala Evening in Lusaka, Zambia on Saturday 21 July, 2012.
The  event will be hosted by  Isha Sesay, host of CNN International’s NewsCenter and Franklin Tembo Jnr, ZNBC presenter.
   An all expenses paid five day programme of workshops, media forums, networking has been set up for the finalists during the run up to the award ceremony on 21 July 2012.