Breaking News


Wednesday, November 2

Jay z, Kanye West,Rick Ross Nominated for First MTV Sucker Free Awards

       On December 4, MTV2 will cap a monthlong celebration of hip-hop history month with the inaugural Sucker Free Awards. The show will take place at the historic LIV Fontainebleau in Miami Beach and will feature a special performance from YMCMB. It will air at 11 p.m. ET on MTV2 and be hosted by none other than MTV News' own Sway Calloway.Sucker Free Countdown.

    The Sucker Free Awards will honor the year in hip-hop with a unique look back at the music, moments and personalities that made 2011 so memorable. Seven categories will be determined by a combination of online and social-media voting and tallies from tastemakers throughout the music and entertainment industry.
       Among the most-nominated artists are Tyler, the Creator and his Odd Future crew, who have three nods, including Rookie of the Year, Best Crew of 2011 and Follow Me Like Twitter: The Must Follow Person in Social Media. The rookie category will find Tyler facing off against Big Sean, J. Cole and Wiz Khalifa, while the crew battle includes Rick Ross' Maybach Music Group, YMCMB, Slaughterhouse/Shady 2.0, G.O.O.D. Music, Roc Nation and Taylor Gang.

Tyler will take on 50 Cent, Fabolous, Chris Brown and Lil Duval for the Twitter crown.
The tastemakers will pull their votes for the following categories:
Like a Boss: The Artist That Ran 2011
» Jay-Z and Kanye West
» Lil Wayne
» Rick Ross
» Nicki Minaj
» Chris Brown

Certified Classic: Best Album of the Year
» Jay-Z and Kanye West, Watch the Throne
» Lil Wayne, Tha Carter IV
» Lupe Fiasco, Lasers
» MMG, Made, Vol. 1
» Big Sean, Finally Famous

Club Banger: Song of the Year
» DJ Khaled (featuring Drake, Rick Ross and Lil Wayne), "I'm On One"
» Meek Mill, "Ima Boss"
» Jay-Z and Kanye West, "N---as in Paris"
» Drake, "Headlines"
» Y.C. (featuring Future), "Racks"

Who's Got Next: Best Artist Without an Album
» Meek Mill
» Kendrick Lamar
» Mac Miller
» Big K.R.I.T.
» ASAP Rocky