Breaking News


Friday, October 7

The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 winners are liberian president Elen Johnson sirleaf ,Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman

Elen johnson sirleaf

    The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 was awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman .
   The Norwegian Nobel Committee honored the three women "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work.""I am very very happy about this prize," said Karman, a 32-year-old mother of three who heads the human rights group Women Journalists without Chains.
   She has been a leading figure in organizing protests President Ali Abdullah Saleh that kicked off in late January as part of a wave of anti-authoritarian revolts that have convulsed the Arab world."I give the prize to the youth of revolution in Yemen and the Yemeni people," Karman told The Associated Press.
       Elen Johnson Sirleaf, 72, is a Harvard-trained economist who became Africa's first democratically elected female president in 2005.She faces a presidential poll this month.She was seen as a reformer and peacemaker in Liberia when she took office. 

1 comment: